Dogs are Gods way of giving us friendship and loyalty

Standard

There are a number of  “dog” sayings that Ive loved:

Dogs are not our whole life, but they make our lives whole.  ~Roger Caras

My goal in life is to be as good of a person my dog already thinks I am.  ~Author Unknown

The great pleasure of a dog is that you may make a fool of yourself with him and not only will he not scold you, but he will make a fool of himself too.  ~Samuel Butler, Notebooks, 1912

 

If anyone has read of my obsession with my fitbit, its fair enough to say that I wouldnt log but 2000 steps a day if it werent for my dogs. they keep me healthy and fit. And yes, it needs discipline to have a dog. As a working mother to a toddler, the joy and duty of walking my fur babies has, unfortunately, been outsourced. I know they want their human parents to walk them. They get so excited when I pick up their leashes. While they love their walker, it’s not the same. It’s like having a nanny take you to the park instead of mom….its still fun and you still go, but it’s not the same.

No matter how busy I get and how high or low life feels at the moment, my dogs are my blessings…they are my constants in life, my pillars of love. I can fight with my husband, feel like my toddler hates me, not like anyone else I’m dealing with..but nothing ever changes the amazing love my fur boys have for me. Nothing changes how comforting it is to hug them, or how loyally they follow me around when I wake up early for work and they’d rather still be sleeping.

I can’t wait for V to grow up a little, and to take him to dog shelters, to volunteer with humane societies, to share the love these pure creatures have to give.

Its heartbreaking to think that these amazing babies of mine will live less than I will, under normal circumstances. And yet, would I want to trust their care to strangers in their old age? Maybe not. The best thing we can do for those we love is to ensure their lives are good till the end. It is much kinder to be the one enduring the pain of being left behind, than leaving behind people to mourn for you. Obviously, this is not under our control, but I hope that my dogs will never know the sorrow of pining for anyone in their pack. How will they deal if one passes on before the other?

What a macabre post this is turning into…back to cheerful things then.

Have you ever taken selfies with your dog/s? I love how patiently my pups pose…here’s one with Tux:

image

 

 

Leave a Reply

